THE LAST HOMBRES: Odd Fellows Rest

lost hombres - odd fellows rest“The return of The Last Hombres is one of the most anticipated reunions of the year.” — Steve Matteo, Pulse Magazine

The Last Hombres and American icons, the Band, share more than just great songwriting, expert musicianship, rocking country melodies and a rhythm section reminiscent of Stax. Indeed it was band luminaries Buddy Cage, Rick Danko and Levon Helm that helped nudge The Last Hombres into existence, with Levon joining principal songwriters Paul Schmitz (guitar, vocals), Michael Meehan (bass, vocals), and Russ Seeger (guitars, vocals) for a two year stint and the acclaimed 2003 album Redemption.

Eventually, Levon decided to stay closer to home, leaving the remaining tres Hombres to spin apart. A decade of side gigs, studio work and solo projects followed, until drummer Tom Ryan convinced the Hombres to reform, along with multi instrumentalist Chris James. The result – Odd Fellows Rest – a superb album of literate roots rock, surrealistic alternative country, and dusk colored gypsy outlaw ballads.

The Last Hombres restless ride from Long Island to Laredo via New Orleans is studded with ruggedly defiant, whisky-drinking men and their seductive, tainted women. That journey is best captured in the desperado masterpiece “Unforgiven Man,” surely a candidate for Americana song of the year. Clint Eastwood would be proud. It proves that there are still real musicians riding tall, playing badass music, and writing muscular, deep songs (no pop studio tricks here, mister!). They’re called The Last Hombres.


GLEN DAVID ANDREWS: Dumaine Street Blues arrow-right
Next post

arrow-left GLEN DAVID ANDREWS: Redemption
Previous post

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube