LEROY JONES: City of Sounds

Leroy Jones

“City of Sounds, an octet session, is marked by tutti passages, polyphony and rhythms indigenous to the Crescent City”. 

“Jones plays a clean, take-your-time, declarative lead throughout, as befits his experience with the Hurricane Brass Band, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, the Louisiana Repertory Jazz Ensemble and the Harry Connick, Jr. Band. The album was produced by Danish trombonist Ole “Fessor” Lindgreen. Two other Danes appear on the album: clarinetist Jorgen Svare and bassist Ole “Skipper” Mosgaard. Besides Jones, the New Orleans musicians are tenor saxophonist Ralph H. Johnson, guitarist Steve Blailock, pianist Ed Frank and drummer Herman Lebeaux.

The rocking title track opens the album. “Holy Roller” has changes like “The Preacher,” and the acquit acquit themselves with appropriate testimonials. Svare shines in a Bigard-like manner on “Blue Frog” and “Jungle Blues.” The rhythm section is infectious throughout the album-uncluttered, uplifting and respectful of tradition. The Danes sound thoroughly steeped in the classic and more contemporary Crescent City styles; they make themselves right at home among the locals.” – Owen Cordle, JazzTimes


AL BELLETTO: Jazznocracy arrow-right
Next post

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube